Rdum tal-Madonna

Rdum tal-Madonna (3548-3549)
Rdum tal-Madonna. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

The last couple of days we’ve had splendid sunrises, the kind that make you wish you had planned an outing. The strong winds have done their bit to cool things down somewhat. It must have been rather photogenic (if possibly dangerous) by the coast. And so autumn is suddenly upon us, with the promise of walks, photography, etc.

Anyway, today I’m sharing another image from the walk at l-Aħrax tal-Mellieħa. This is possibly my favourite of that set. I had my telephoto lens on, and to avoid changing lenses (and taking too much time) I shot this scene as a panorama, stitching two exposures in post production. It worked out well, and the amount of detail is rather incredible. As I approached this scene, the light was rather special, and I learnt some time ago to take these opportunities as they come. In particular, that bluish reflection of the sea on the cliffs is not something I remember seeing before.

Just above these cliffs is a small chapel dedicated to Our Lady, which is where the name of these cliffs comes from.

2 comments

Leave a Comment

