Pen and Paper

Pen and Paper (3713)
(Click on the photo for added detail.)

After a long and tiring day I was going though my WordPress reader and came across this week’s photo challenge (Extra)ordinary. I haven’t had much time lately to read, and I have never used these daily prompts and weekly inspirations for my writing here. Over the last few years things have settled into a workable rhythm so why mess with it? Still, this week’s prompt wasn’t something I could easily pass over. The premise of finding something mundane and showing it as special, well, I find it very attractive.

I often (well, perhaps not *so* often, but it does happen when I’m not looking) find myself staring at everyday things when the light falls in just that particular way, or if what I see brings with it strong memories of pleasant times. If the camera is close at hand, and if I’m in the mood, I will grab it and try to frame what I see. I keep a folder (well, one for every year, really) for such miscellaneous photos.

Today’s photo is one of this kind that I took a few months ago. For my research work I keep a journal to keep track of what I’m working on, ideas, things to do, explanations of results, etc. Basically everything that’s relevant to my research before it ends up in some funding proposal or technical paper. I still do this the old-fashioned way, with pen and paper, which is what you see. I like the permanence of the ink and the tactile nature of writing my thoughts. This is possibly one of the most pleasant components of academic research work, partly because writing is always an act of closure. And everything else is already in a git repository.

2 comments

Leave a Comment

