Route Cleaning

(Click on the photo for added detail.)
(Click on the photo for added detail.)

A little later than anticipated, but at least I made it in time to post this today. Once again I’m responding to this week’s photo challenge Careful. Many things I do require care and attention. I find I’m rather attracted to pursuits of that kind. It’s just in my natural disposition. But when I read the challenge one thing above all others came in mind: what we do when climbing.

Thankfully I had some photography that I could use for that purpose. This summer I bought myself a Mobius, one of these small and inexpensive action cameras, with a few accessories. I had heard about them from Ted Forbes’ video podcast, and seeing their price I couldn’t resist. A few weeks ago I hooked one up on my climbing helmet and tried it out on an easy route. The photo you see is a still from that video, while I was on my way down again. You can see the rest of our climbing group below.

At the end of the climb I cleaned the anchor and rigged a retrievable abseil, to clean the rest of the route on my way down. (For the non-climbers: that is I made sure I could come down safely and also not leave any climbing gear behind.) In case you’re interested, this was at Flake Wall, a recently bolted crag in Wied il-Għasel, Mosta.

Leave a Comment

