Rdum Rxawn

Rdum Rxawn (3893)
(Click on the photo for added detail.)

I was uncertain I’d find the time to write today, but here I am, and that’s a good thing. Lately my routine seems to have changed without me noticing. I haven’t been to the archery range in several weeks now, and I also haven’t been on any walks in a while. Thankfully last weekend I did get to meet a few other climbers at Lapsi. As sunset approached I even managed to set up my camera for a few photos, which I still need to process.

And that brings me to another point. I was organizing things last week and found that this year I only shot about half the frames I did the year before. I like to analyse statistics from the EXIF data of the photos I take to see how my use of the gear changes over time. Things like what proportion of photos I take with each lens, distributions of aperture and focal length used, etc. And it was quite a surprise to see that in 2015 (so far) I shot about half what I did in 2014. Perhaps it should not have come as such a surprise. My walks in Malta over the last year have been very different to what I used to do in the UK. There I generally walked alone. So I had plenty of time to set up and shoot wherever I felt inspired to do so. Here I’ve mostly walked in a (rather large) group. Which is also fun, but much less conducive of photographic output. Most of my photos were snapshots. To make things worse, whenever I went climbing I didn’t take my camera with me. Lately I’ve been doing so and finding ways to make the two work together, which is great. One good thing, at least, is that while I took less photos it seems my output of processed photos has hardly diminished.

Anyway, I took today’s photo earlier this autumn, on a walk near Xemxija. I see that cliffs have become a bit of a theme for me. Further down these cliffs is what I’m told is a rather nice crag with several bolted routes. I’ll need to check it out one of these days, but the only way to access it is by scrambling down a rather steep section with the help of an in-situ rope. I’m usually not too keen on exposed access, but I also noticed that over the last year my threshold for what I consider to be exposed has improved considerably. I think that’s a good thing.

3 comments

  1. There’s also a ladder down to the coast which you can climb down from here: https://goo.gl/maps/wi1s1uapnbo

    The ladder is extremely rusty and doesn’t inspire much confidence but my friends and I have been down and back up this way without incident… Just watch your step.

Leave a Comment

