A Foggy Night on the Franco-Swiss Border

A Foggy Night on the Franco-Swiss Border (4041)
(Click on the photo for added detail.)

I spent most of last week at CERN on a work visit. It was an odd feeling going across the unmanned border twice a day, using Swiss francs at lunchtime and Euros at dinner. It was even more weird to see the news a day after I got back, and knowing that same border would now be controlled again. Brought back memories of more than 14 years ago when I was in Michigan, studying.

I took this photo on our last day there. We were walking back from a lovely brasserie in St Genis, talking about our common interests and going over the events of the last few days. In short, it looked like a good end to a fruitful week. The fog came down thick that night, and I couldn’t resist getting the camera out and taking a few photos. I made some compositions with the cars whizzing by, but in the end I preferred this simpler approach. In post I played around a bit with colour grading to get the feel I was going for, and other than some minor cropping to clean the edges that was it.

2 comments

Leave a Comment

