After the Sunset

After the Sunset (4018)
(Click on the photo for added detail.)

After the visit to CERN I found some time to edit photos. I started with the session at Lapsi, where after some climbing I set up the camera and waited for the sunset. I was hoping for some interesting light, but a bank of clouds in the distance meant that the sunset itself was rather uneventful. Instead I did something I don’t often do: I just waited some more to see what the time after the sunset would bring.

By that time, the two remaining climbers were packing up their gear, and it was all rather quiet and peaceful. I decided to make the most of the peaceful atmosphere and took some long exposures to help calm the sea down. The light was low, so there was no need for any additional filters.

In the distance you can see Għar Lapsi (dead centre in the image), which is a rocky bay popular with swimmers. The two restaurants nearby are quieter in the off-season and I’m not sure if they remain completely open. As you can see, access to the crags is easy enough, with the cars not far away. Still, it’s a fairly steep climb to the caves and by the time I get there I’m always winded. Must be getting old.

4 comments

    • Thanks Nick, you’re too kind! I really enjoyed reading the last post on your blog. It really resonated with our experiences as expats.

Leave a Comment

