Evening Sail

Evening Sail (4284)
(Click on the photo for added detail.)

I’ve been promising myself to plan more photography outings, and with the Christmas holidays coming up I’m positive. Last week I nipped out for an hour just over the hill to Għargħur to take a sunset shot I’ve had in mind for a while. I’ll share that soon, but since today is a Monday I’m starting with another photo from that session – a minimalist shot of a sailing boat off the ‘White Rocks’ coastline.

Minimalist shots are something I am attracted to, but don’t often make. There are a number of photographers (and other artists) I admire for their minimalist work, and it’s very hard to avoid shots that have been done before. When there’s so little in the frame, the little that’s there seems to dominate, and there’s only so much variation one can try. Well, for starters, most of what I see other people do tends to be in B&W (which I love), so I try to look for shots that work better in colour. I’m enjoying the process, and here’s hoping others also enjoy the results of my efforts.

A big thank you needs to go to Olivier Du Tré, who curates the #MinimalMonday theme over on G+, which in a week will have it’s 4th anniversary. Thank you for the inspiration!

One comment

Leave a Comment

