Genève

Genève (4026)
Genève. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

A short post after a long day. I spent the better part of the day working on (and discussing) a pattern recognition problem for the ALICE Time Projection Chamber (TPC) at CERN. This is arguably the part of my job I enjoy the most, working directly on interesting experiments for scientific research. It is also probably the most mentally demanding, so by the end of the day I’m both exhilarated and tired. All this to say that I thought it most fitting to share this last photo I had from my visit to CERN in November.

I remember at the end of the day we took the tram down to Genève and were walking along the lakefront on our way to a memorable fondue. With the well-known Swiss watchmakers, financiers, and luxury brands on the opposite shore I knew I had to stop to take a photo. I was travelling light, with only my camera and one lens, but thankfully these modern cameras handle the dark really well.

Leave a Comment

