Mosta Bridge

Mosta Bridge (20160107)
Mosta Bridge. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

I’m rather late writing this today. For this week’s throwback of sorts I’m sticking with that colour film I cross-processed not too long ago. For a highly experimental roll there’s more I plan to share than I thought I’d have. And so far I realise I’ve only shared two photos. So here’s the third in that series. This is the well-known bridge across Mosta valley (or more properly Wied il-Għasel) close to the fort. Organized abseils are held every so often at this bridge, which is about 50m high.

I took this photo from a path we usually go down to climb at one of the recently bolted sectors there. Every time I take this path I stop somewhere close to this point just to take in the view, and remind myself that I want to go down there with full photography gear. It’s a pity the buildings from the industrial area intrude upon this composition. But then that’s part of what this area is today, with a fort in active service this side of the bridge on camera right, and the industrial area on the other side of the bridge (camera right again). The cathedral and bastions of Mdina can also be seen in the distance.

Leave a Comment

