Baħar iċ-Ċagħaq and St Mark’s Tower

Baħar iċ-Ċagħaq and St Mark's Tower (4282)
Baħar iċ-Ċagħaq and St Mark’s Tower. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

I had a hard time picking a photo to share today. As it happens, it’s World Heritage Day (or the International Day for Monuments and Sites), so I really wanted to share something related. While established by UNESCO, the same organization that holds the list of World Heritage Sites, the day is not meant to be restricted to the listed sites but is applicable more generally to built heritage. Now in Malta we have a few listed sites: the whole fortified city of Valletta, the collection of megalithic temples, and the hypogeum. Unfortunately, I don’t really have any photos of Valletta I’m proud of (this remains a future project), and my photos of the temples are buried in my file of negatives. This also means that most of them reflect a much less sophisticated understanding of photography on my side. The hypogeum is an oddity as I have some good photos from a very personal visit with my brother and one of the curators, about the time I went digital. However, I wouldn’t want to share any of those photos without clearing permission first.

Anyway, this brings me to the photo I chose. I’ve been wanting to share this for a while as I’m rather happy how it turned out. I took this on a late autumn evening from Għargħur, on an outing specifically for taking photos. I thought it would make sense for today, as it shows the old tower (completed in 1658) that was part of a line of watch towers along the Maltese coast, and also the much newer village of Baħar iċ-Ċagħaq. Before the village, the tower must have felt so much more isolated. I wonder how things will be in a few hundred year – more likely than not, the tower will be surrounded, and on the island there won’t be any countryside left.

One comment

Leave a Comment

