San Pawl tal-Qliegħa

San Pawl tal-Qliegħa (4590)
San Pawl tal-Qliegħa. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

Today’s photo is another from the series of Maltese chapels I’m working on. This is actually the second chapel I visited on Good Friday earlier this year, after the one in Wied Speranza. I must have passed by this chapel so many times, as it’s on the way from Mosta to a cross-roads leading to Mġarr, Rabat / Dingli, or Tarġa Gap. On that Good Friday I finally took a close look. I found that the chapel is still in use, with weekly mass on Saturday evenings.

I parked near a farm, making sure I wasn’t blocking any access, and walked a bit to scope out the place. In the end I set up near where I parked, on the side of the bridge to keep the chapel in full view. Again I went for a long exposure here, to soften the shadows a bit and get some movement in the sky.

I’m finding the process of taking photos of these small chapels to be a fascinating way to explore my country. There are so very many of them, and often still in regular (if at times infrequent) use. In some cases getting a decent photo is challenging because of everything around them. I guess in such places I’ll need to be a bit more creative.

7 comments

      • That is a handy list, bookmarked it for future reference, as we often visit Malta these days. Next time will be May 22nd for the week.

        Slowing the exposure down a bit really works nicely, as the shadows can be pretty strong there with the sun being so strong. Did you need to use any ND filters at all?

      • Thanks, and glad you’re enjoying Malta enough to visit often. I’m sure your brother appreciates that!

        I think I have used an ND filter; I usually do. The sky tends to be so bright here. I also usually use a polarizer, which cuts a lot of glare from foliage and such and helps define the clouds a lot better. Because of this I’ve set up my filter holder to take two square filters + the polarizer in front. That way I can have the polarizer, a grad, and the Big Stopper, and minimize intrusion of the polarizer edge into the frame (which happens only at 21mm or wider).

      • Sounds like a sensible setup and I’ve been a fan of Lee filters for some time. The circular Hoya filters are great too and more transportable for trips where luggage is limited.

      • Thanks! I find the setup very usable, and since everything fits into a single pouch it’s not hard to transport. I always keep my photo gear in hand luggage, which doesn’t seem to have much else 🙂

        I talk more about the setup in one of my older posts (https://jabriffa.wordpress.com/2014/02/15/polarising-filter-for-lee-100mm-system/), if you’re interested. The circular filters are definitely convenient, I still have some for my older 58mm lenses. Square setups really become necessary for grads through, not much one can do about that I suppose…

Leave a Comment

