High Rigg Panorama

High Rigg Panorama (20160510)
High Rigg Panorama. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

Astute readers will have noticed that last week I took a break from posting. We went up to the Lake District for a break, and it was simpler to let the blog be for a week. Now we’re back, recharged, though after almost 800 miles of driving I won’t mind staying put for a while. Even though this wasn’t a photography trip, there’s also the matter of working through a lot of photos over the coming weeks. With some luck there will be a few good ones.

So I thought it appropriate, today, to share a first photo from last week’s visit to the lakes. I took this almost at the start of the second walk of the day, on High Rigg. I hadn’t taken my camera out yet, as the light wasn’t particularly great, so I took a few photos with my phone. On the right you can see the path I just came up. On the left in the distance you can see the buttresses of Castle Rock, which is apparently rather popular with climbers. A short while after taking this I saw a roe deer, where I wished I had my camera out (with the telephoto lens on). Or rather, it saw me, and scuttled away.

In the interest of full disclosure, I must say that this panorama is stitched from three photos with Hugin, which is what I usually use for stitching. With the source having limited dynamic range (and no filters) I also had to resort to some digital trickery to get some colour back into the sky. It’s not something I usually do, but in this case needs must.

5 comments

  1. I feel guilty for not having been to the lakes since I was a child. We did go, but it was more of a fleeting visit. So note to self, make time for great places!

    • It’s amazing how many people I know who say something similar. Usually stopping on the way to Scotland. I just love the lakes, great walking country.

    • Thanks! This was a bit more, ahem, involved :-). But I tried to replicate what a proper ND grad would have done to the actual scene.

  2. […] the Lake District, this time from an afternoon walk along the ridge on High Rigg. I already shared a panorama stitched from a few smartphone snaps, taken a little earlier in the walk. By the time I was walking down Wren Crag, however, I had […]

Leave a Comment

