Ben Taking a Fall

Ben Taking a Fall (4482)
Ben Taking a Fall. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

It has been one of those weeks. You know, the kind where no matter how much time you put in, it feels like you haven’t really accomplished anything significant, and the days just flutter by. It doesn’t help that I have a boatload of photos still to process and which I can’t seem to find the time or the inspiration to work on. I’m also slowly realising that lately I haven’t been out with the camera much, or rather that I’m taking many photos even when I do.

I postponed the new photo for this week twice, so at this point I’m just skipping that, and instead sharing a throwback photo with a few quick words. Today’s photo is one that has been sitting in my ‘to share’ pile for a few months now. I was almost tempted to throw it away, as I already shared a very visually similar photo, taken just seconds before this one. In that photo, Ben was pulling hard at the crux of this particular route. I preferred to share that as it basically makes him look cooler. However, I think I prefer this photo myself.

I was lucky (and prepared) and I think I got the timing just perfect. I purposely had a slowish shutter speed dialled in, to accentuate movement. I had already worked on the overall composition, and was happy with that. I also took some test frames to make sure I had the exposure correct. So when the moment came, I could just shoot.

2 comments

Leave a Comment

