Rough Seas at Għajn Tuffieħa

Rough Seas at Għajn Tuffieħa (5010)
Rough Seas at Għajn Tuffieħa. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

I know what you’re thinking. “What rough seas?” I hear you say. Well, a few weeks ago we had some high winds on the island, and people seemed to be in a bit of a panic. For a change the beaches were relatively quiet, with the red flags raised. I thought that was perfect weather for a walk along the shore and some photography. Given the wind direction I headed to Għajn Tuffieħa in the late afternoon and walked a bit along the cliffs between Għajn Tuffieħa bay proper and Ir-Ramla tal-Mixquqa (Golden Bay). I had in mind a composition with the waves breaking on the rocky shore, and I tried a few to that effect but wasn’t too happy with the results. Means I need to practice more. When I was done I walked down towards Għajn Tuffieħa bay and set up for a wide view of the bay itself at sunset. Controlling for the extreme contrast proved very difficult, and I’m still not happy with my attempts to process those photos.

Well, so much for the obvious. With that out of the way I was relaxed enough to start focusing on details. One thing I really like about this island is the way the water looks very early or very late in the day. There is a quality to it, with the reflections of the sky (with its orange and pink hues) and often enough the buildings in bright local limestone, that is rather unique. In this particular instance, I could also see longer-than-usual reflections on the wet sand as the waves retreated. So I set up for some telephoto shots and focused on the waves and the reflections. Then I just had to wait for the right moment to complete the scene.

Leave a Comment

