Scrubland

Scrubland (4961)
Scrubland. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

A quick post today, to share another photo from the series at Il-Majjistral park in late spring this year. On my way to the Rdum id-Delli viewpoint I had the telephoto lens on and I was exploring possibilities with that constrained field of view. It turns out this is a fantastic location for that kind of photography, and therefore one I will return to again. In fact I unexpectedly did just that last week, when I met a good friend to go try out a long telephoto he recently bought. (More about that in another post, once I start processing those photos.)

Anyway, today’s photo shows the kind of terrain that dominates this park. R thinks it’s too rough and uncomfortable to walk along, and didn’t really enjoy things when we went for a walk there. She’s right, of course, but to me that’s a big part of the charm. Paths are often not well-defined (some are, though) and one has to pay attention where one’s putting one’s feet. Which means you actually have to stop to admire the view every so often, or all you’ll see is the ground underfoot. In this particular outing, the wild thyme (Sagħtar) was in bloom. This, to me, is as typical of the Maltese countryside as you’re likely to see.

5 comments

  1. “This, to me, is as typical of the Maltese countryside as you’re likely to see.” Learnt something new 🙂

    (Also got curious about the Maltese alphabet so I can better understand the original names that you post—thanks!)

    • Happy to help 🙂 I guess most people think of beaches, the blue sea, and a cloudless sky when they think of Malta. These things are there of course, but they’re not really the only kind of landscape around.

      Have you found out enough about the Maltese alphabet to help you figure things out? If not, I could write up something brief on this blog. (And now I’m wondering how much information is already available about this online.)

      • Thanks for the reply! I have to say I resorted to the Wikipedia page on Maltese to find out more … It gave me some basic info, but in an impersonal setting (which therefore meant it wasn’t particularly memorable). All this to say that if you were to ever write a blog post on the topic—I’d probably get more fun and instruction out of it 🙂

        (I’ve been trying to figure out how to pronounce the letters which have no obvious equivalent in English. So even if you picked a single letter and wrote a few words about it, it could be interesting … No pressure!)

      • Sounds like a great idea for a series of blog posts 😃 I’ll definitely put this on my ‘things to blog about’ list… Thanks!

Leave a Comment

