Għajn Tuffieħa Tower

ghajn-tuffieha-tower-5130
Għajn Tuffieħa Tower. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

Today I’m sharing another photo taken with my friend’s Sigma 150-600mm C lens. This is precisely what I had in mind when I suggested visiting Il-Majjistral. We were on the other side of the bay, where a long lens allows you to frame interesting bits of the scene. I had already done this exercise with my trusty 70-200, and I wondered what it would be like with a lot more reach. (There’s a bunch of photos from that series that I still need to share.) Turns out it’s quite a lot in fact! There is a place for super telephoto in landscape work after all. Thinking back to when I started with photography, this is the kind of image I knew I wanted to take. Back then I had a 75-300 on a film camera (still have both in fact), but it was my technical skills that limited my results.

Like the moon photo I shared last week, this was also taken handheld. It’s sharp enough, such that any softness/blur will only show at high magnification. This is very respectable at this focal length, especially considering I shot wide open. However, if I had to take similar photos again I would definitely set up my tripod. It’s just not worth compromising the potential of a photo for some laziness. In post I was surprised at how strong the orange light was on the cliff face. I actually had to tone it down with a (digital) cooling filter.

Leave a Comment

