Għajn Tuffieħa Tower

ghajn-tuffieha-tower-5007
Għajn Tuffieħa Tower. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

It’s almost autumn, so perhaps I’ll be taking some new photos again. Meanwhile, here’s one from a session at Għajn Tuffieħa on a windy day in July. After some time experimenting with the waves crashing on the shoreline, as sunset approached I found a spot where I could take some wide-angle views of the bay and also some telephoto views of the tower. As I’m sure you can tell by now, this tower is a particular favourite subject of mine. I know I have photos featuring it from various viewpoints, except of course seaward.

And yes, silhouettes are rather cliché, but if it works why not? I made some effort to keep the sky in check while also leaving some detail in the tower’s stonework and the cliffs below. Most of this I managed with filters, but the extreme exposure range still needed a fair bit of work in post. I still find it surprising how well modern digital cameras can handle difficult situations. And I say this with full knowledge that recent cameras from other brands (cough) handle exposure range in a much better way.

On a separate note, I have finally processed some of the photos from the second roll of expired C-41 film I shot. So keep an eye out as I’ll be sharing those in the coming weeks. Meanwhile, once I start taking photos again I should load up my film body with a proper B&W film and experiment some more.

Leave a Comment

