Jeff’s Cave

jeffs-cave-160223
Jeff’s Cave. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

Over the coming few weeks I plan to share a few photos from the last film I developed. As with the previous one a few months before, this was an old expired colour negative (C-41 process) film. The main point for me was to get used to the mechanics of transferring the exposed film to the developing tank in a light-tight bag, and to go through the cycle of chemical soups. This was only the second film I dev’ed completely solo, and I’m happy to say I’m already comfortable with the whole process. Things were a little easier this time as I already had all the gear I needed. Except for one thing: it was 30°C inside when I did this, so I had to use an ice bath to bring the developer down to the required 20°C.

In any case, results were similar to the previous roll, very grainy with rather thin shadows. To compensate for this a bit I had over-exposed the film by two stops (i.e. working at EI 50 rather than the film’s official 200). I also took the chance this time to experiment a bit with the use of filters. And just to keep things simple, I shot the whole roll with the 50mm f/1.4 lens. This made it easy to just pack the camera with me.

Today’s photo is a view I’ve seen a lot of. It’s a part of the ceiling and rock-face above Jeff’s cave in Wied il-Għasel. I’ve been there, climbing, rather often, and this is the view in the late light just before the sun drops below the cliffs on the other side of the valley.To add to the contrast I used a red filter, and I think I also had the polariser on at the time.

One comment

Leave a Comment

