Buttermere from Little Round How

buttermere-from-little-round-how-4922
Buttermere from Little Round How. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

Today I thought I’d go back and share with you something from our visit to the Lake District earlier this year. For my last walk there I wanted to top things off with one I’ve been wanting to do for a while – a circular walk from Gatesgarth to the summit of Haystacks via Scarth Gap, across to Dubs Quarry, and down to Warnscale Bottom on the flank of Fleetwith Pike. We were graced with fabulous weather throughout our week there, never even using our rain jackets (I know, right?!), and Haystacks is ‘just’ a big hill at slightly under 2000ft, but I didn’t want to underestimate it, keeping in mind my relationship with heights. And I also kept remembering Bill Bryson’s account of this very British walk…

As it turned out, this was by far my favourite walk, and I can understand why Wainwright listed it as his favourite. My mobile phone lost its signal before I even hit the Honister pass on my drive to Gatesgarth (I expected this, having stayed at Seatoller some years ago). And with such a beautiful day there were several other walkers around. I picked up my pace and by the time I got to the summit there was only one couple before me, for whom this was the last Wainwright. I spent some quiet time there taking photos of the craggy summit and its tarns, and then picked my way down. I took this photo from Little Round How, just before Dubs Quarry, looking down towards Warnscale Bottom and Buttermere. Crummock Water can be seen in the distance. By this time it was late morning already, so the light was far from ideal for photography. Still, I wouldn’t let something as silly as that stop me from enjoying the moment.

Leave a Comment

