Farm Ruins

farm-ruins-4783
Farm Ruins. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

This week I’m sharing another photo from our visit to the Lake District earlier this year. For my second walk of the day I went on an afternoon ramble around High Rigg, starting with the ridge walk northwards and returning to my car by the valley walk on its eastern flank. On this walk back I passed by some farm ruins that just looked so evocative. The valley had a very different feel to the ridge, more enclosed, more tamed too, and the ruins were just another reminder that this land has been worked for a long time.

By this time I was eager to get back to my car, as I had a bit of a misadventure on the ridge (nothing serious, just a miscalculation that saw my lower leg covered in mud). Also the light was rather flat, with a gray featureless sky, so I didn’t bother setting up the tripod and filters and shot handheld. Composition was a bit tricky as I was rather constrained on where I could shoot from (I don’t trespass), but in the end I found something that worked for me.

Leave a Comment

