On Fashion and Professional Sports

“I believe my life has value and I don’t want to waste it thinking about clothing,” Malcolm said. “I don’t want to think about what I will wear in the morning. Truly, can you imagine anything more boring than fashion? Professional sports, perhaps. Grown men swatting little balls, while the rest of the world pays money to applaud. But, on the whole, I find fashion even more tedious than sports.”

From: Michael Crichton, Jurassic Park, 1990.

Wanting a little light reading, I recently started Jurassic Park. Now I must say that Crichton is not one of my favourites. Too much presumption for my taste, and the books take themselves a bit too seriously. When I think of ‘research’, what he (or his ghostwriter) does is not the first thing that comes to mind. But I digress. I have enjoyed a few of his tales as light entertainment, and so far Jurassic Park is not disappointing. This particular quote, for instance, gave me quite a chuckle.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.