Coastal Towers at Għajn Tuffieħa

coastal-towers-at-ghajn-tuffieha-4956
Coastal Towers at Għajn Tuffieħa. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

Now that I’m through with the film photos I wanted to share, I’m going back a bit to a very productive outing at Il-Majjistral Nature and History Park in late spring this year. Other than the wide view of Rdum id-Delli, which is what I had in mind when I went on that outing, this is possibly my favourite photo from that session, so it’s rather strange how long it took me to share this.

On my way to the intended viewpoint I had my telephoto lens on, a lens that I have grown to love. I have found the 70-200mm to be an ideal range for isolating details in the scene, and the f/4 version I have is just compact and light enough (for a telephoto) to make the whole experience rather painless. A further bonus is that its image stabiliser is reliable enough to allow me to shoot handheld with abandon. Followers of this blog will know that I don’t normally talk about gear, because in the end it’s just a tool to be used. But in this case I have to make an exception. I bought this lens after much deliberation, as an upgrade from the 75-300mm I already had. Since it did not really give me anything new in terms of features (other than that stabiliser) it was not an easy decision. However, I can confidently say it was the right one. The combination of stabiliser, focusing speed, increased sharpness, and overall reliability has meant that I get a much higher fraction of technically satisfactory photos. Which in turn means that I get to use this lens much more than my older one…

Leave a Comment

