Incoming Arrow

A bit of an unusual bonus post today. Last week I found some time to go to the archery range in Marsa for some training. I haven’t been regular enough with this, which is something I hope to fix. Now while I was there I thought to myself how interesting it would be to watch an arrow flying in from the point of view of the target. So I set up my tiny Mobius at the top left of the boss, set it up to record, and shot another end of arrows. What you see is a short clip showing the aim, release, and arrow flight, for the target distance of 50m.

In case you were wondering, I wasn’t too worried about hitting the camera. This was just off the boss, or about 64cm from target centre. I know I usually get all my arrows well within target at this distance, so barring some accident, it was unlikely there would be any problems.

5 comments

  1. This would have been even more awesome in slow motion!
    I once also saw a video taken with cameras mounted on the arrows themselves…I wonder what sort of camera/mount you’d need to use for that kind of setup 🙂

Leave a Comment

