Approaching Storm

approaching-storm-5232
Approaching Storm. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

Last weekend I finally started catching up with photo processing. As luck would have it, I wasn’t feeling my best, so decided to cancel all outdoor plans. Which meant I had some time to catch up with the odd maintenance task and some photo editing. To start with I put a decent effort on some photos I had taken the week before. On my return from the work trip (to Crete, with some luck I’ll have something to share later), R and I spent a lazy Sunday, at the end of which we went for a walk in Mtaħleb. Now this is a place I’ve walked around before, and I wanted to return in the late afternoon when I knew the light would be better. So we combined the short walk with a plan to take some photos.

I took this photo just before we turned back to our car. The country road you see leads all the way down to Miġra l-Ferħa, that cleft in the cliffs where traditionally Roger the Norman supposedly landed with his invading force. It’s a popular place with locals. Sadly, it’s also very popular with the Land Rover community. Now I say ‘sadly’ with some reserve here, as I have nothing against the pleasure these folks take in the sense of adventure of a 4×4. However, it’s not fun having several of these vehicles pass by while one is walking a narrow road, and faster than respect requires, to boot.

I digress, as usual. I took this photo mostly because of the storm clouds that we had been observing for a while. It was clearly raining out at sea, though there was little chance this would make landfall, as the wind was taking it away. I’ll be sharing more from this session in the coming weeks.

Leave a Comment

