Ras il-Ħamrija

ras-il-hamrija-5277
Ras il-Ħamrija. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

What to do when the weather’s not good for climbing? When it’s been raining all week, everything’s sodden, and the sun isn’t out long enough to dry the rock? Well, after taking the rare opportunity to catch up on things that needed doing, why not head down to Lapsi anyway and go for a walk? I was lucky enough that an old friend (who I had plans to climb with if the weather was better) took the same approach and joined me for the walk. The basic plan was to repeat a walk I had done almost two years ago, from Lapsi to Ħamrija Tower along the coastline, and back along the cliffs. I had my camera with me but didn’t take too many photos. I did keep an eye out for possible subjects of interest for a photo-specific outing though. This bit of coastline is one that never disappoints. Can you tell I really like this place?

Well, the photo above is one I took at the mid-point of our walk. Today. We’ve had strong winds on the island since yesterday, and while this part of the coast isn’t the hardest hit, you can tell there’s some decent swell. Enough that I wouldn’t want to be out at sea in these conditions. On the other hand, the waves breaking on the rocky shore bring a joy I cannot describe. That smell of the salty sea, with a dash of wild thyme.

Leave a Comment

