Ras il-Ħamrija

ras-il-hamirija-5382
Ras il-Ħamrija. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

This year is proving to be a hectic one. So many things to do, and so little time. I suppose that’s the way it is with life – one has to accept that it’s impossible to do everything one would like to do, and try to hack a reasonable balance between the things that matter. Now one thing I would definitely like to do more of is photography; a close second is to do more walks in the countryside. Both of these were helped a lot by this blog – it’s amazing what a commitment to write regularly will do. However, since I started climbing much more regularly a little more than a year ago, other things fell a bit by the wayside. So when a day came where I couldn’t find a climbing partner, it didn’t take me long to make alternative plans.

This was a little more than a week ago, and it was a bit windy. So I thought I’d drop down to Ras il-Ħamrija, just below the neolithic temples of Mnajdra and Ħaġar Qim, for a walk down to the shore with my camera gear. After scrambling down I walked to the headland and played with a few compositions I had scouted before. What I’m sharing today is one of the tightest compositions. It proved rather challenging to get a steady shot with the wind, particularly because I wanted the exposures to be long enough to blur the water a bit. Thankfully, I expected this problem, so made sure I checked as I shot. This is where it would have been nice to have my bigger tripod with me. But then scrambling down with that would have been less enjoyable.

Leave a Comment

