Apocalyptic Sky

apocalyptic-sky-5398
Apocalyptic Sky. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

I mentioned a couple weeks ago how I recently bought myself an ultra-telephoto. I was referring of course to the Sigma 150-600mm C, that I was lucky enough to try out some time ago on an outing with a friend. So today I’m sharing one of the first few photos I made with this lens, on a quick evening walk in Għargħur. I’m sure it will take me a while to get used to it and what I can do with it. It’s huge, heavy, and has lots of reach, so in every way it’s unlike anything I’m used to. I’m also sure it will be a fun process, though I don’t relish the attention it’s bound to get.

The decision to get this lens was one I had been mulling over for a long time, from before I bought the 70-200 in fact. When I accepted that I needed to upgrade my 75-300 to something better, the tough bit was to figure out what focal length range I needed. Among many options I went with the shorter 70-200 f/4 because it’s a very portable lens with fantastic image quality. I don’t regret that one bit, and I have many favourite images with that lens. However, I found myself wanting more reach often enough to warrant something longer. I knew this could be the case, and figured at worst I’ll just need to buy something else, which this Sigma fits nicely. I also got the 1.4× teleconverter, though I don’t expect I’ll use that much. It’s also my first third-party lens, and I must say I’m really impressed with how it feels and performs. Third party lenses have come a long way.

Leave a Comment

