Crepuscular Rays

Today’s post has been a long time coming. And I don’t mean simply that it’s been a week already since the last post, when I usually post a couple times a week. Rather that I took these photos on the onset of winter and we’re already some way into spring. Actually they’re from two separate occasions, though both times near Lapsi.

The second occasion I remember particularly well, I had gone down to Ras il-Ħamrija to take some photos of the rocky coastline in the evening light. As I walked down through the temple complex the sky was putting on such a display that I had to just stop where I was and take a few photos. This is how my photos of the Congreve memorial came about. Later that day, after I was happy with the coastline photos I set out to take, I turned my attention to the sky. I find it fascinating how varied the sky can be – two of these photos were taken within a few minutes of each other.

While all three are recognizably images of the late sky with the sun (in one case partially) behind cloud cover, and the resulting rays of light seemingly radiating from the sun’s position, each of these has a very distinct feel to it. Of course it wouldn’t quite make sense for me to share each separately, so here they are as a collection.

2 comments

  1. I commend you for the use of Crepuscular in the title. It’s meaning animals that are active at twilight, including photographers! I first heard this word being used on BBC Springwatch courtesy of the excellent Chris Packham.

    • Thanks Nick! I’ve known for some time the term as applied for these rays. Only found out today the twilight association though, and didn’t know before that it’s also applied to animals that are active at twilight. Definitely applies to landscape photographers too 😃.

Leave a Comment

