Fluttering Arête

Fell a bit behind with blogging this week, though I did manage to edit a video we shot last week. On one of the climbing outings, at the tail end of the week, we decided to take things easier than usual and try out some video. So I packed my camera, a couple lenses, filters, and tripod. We were a party of four, with three cameras between us, so everyone had the chance to climb and whoever wanted could also shoot (but not at the same time). I was looking back in my blog to remember how to embed video, and realised it’s been more than a year since I last shared a climbing video.

This particular video shows me leading Fluttering Arête, a route at the far end of the wall. I guess this is as close as I get to doing selfies, starting the take just before roping in. Processing was a bit more involved than usual, and I’m slowly getting the hang of blender, still finding it hard to believe it’s free software. I used two curves modifiers with masks, one to brighten the foreground and the other to darken the sky somewhat. Mediterranean sun makes for very high contrast scenes. I also used some compositing trickery to clean up a distracting element, which was a first for me.

Leave a Comment

