Ħarruba

Ħarruba (5850)
Ħarruba. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

Since moving back to Malta my photography has taken a significant hit in volume. I’ve mentioned this before but I don’t think I’ve elaborated much. I’ve been into photography for a long time, buying my first SLR about twenty years ago. I went digital rather late, about ten years ago, but only really started taking photography more seriously much later (about 2012) when I became active with the photography society at the University of Surrey. For three years there my output ramped up, reaching a peak when we moved to Malta. Since then it’s been in decline – for about a year I was going for weekly walks, but it didn’t take long to basically exhaust options. About the same time I also started taking climbing more seriously, so time to dedicate for photography decreased.

I think at this point I just need to find inspiration again. I’m trying to make it a habit to take my camera (minimal kit, with just the body and one lens) with me when climbing. I’ve tried this before, and have some photos that I’m really happy with from such outings. Usually it’s during the walk to the crag or back to the car. Oddly, even though I’ve seen these places countless times, I keep finding new things to photograph. I like to think that because I know the places well, I’m able to see beyond the obvious, to find those details that make a place special.

In this case, what you see is the (dried, by now) fruit of a carob tree (Ħarrub in Maltese). I took this last weekend in Wied il-Għasel, on my walk down to the crag. The trees enjoy protected status, and their fruit is used to flavour a syrup (Ġulepp tal-Ħarrub) that is reportedly good for coughs etc. I vaguely recall my mum telling me that the carob tree itself was also beneficial to the soil, but I can’t remember the details. I suppose I’ll have to ask her.

Leave a Comment

