Seven Years in England – Exhibition Opening

Exhibition Poster-01This blog post has been a long time coming. Just over three years ago now, while we were in the process of returning to Malta, I had this thought that I wanted to choose a selection of photos from our time in England to set up a solo exhibition. Over the next few months I made the selection and coordinated the venue, initially targeting the start of the following academic year for the exhibition itself. It would take another two years for this to materialise, and it’s finally time.

I’m now happy to announce that the exhibition will open this Friday, 6 October at 18:00 at The Library, University of Malta, with a brief introduction from myself, and will remain open until 30 October. If you’re in the area, you’re invited to attend the opening and/or visit the exhibition. For a preview of the selection of photos, see the image gallery at the end of this post.

Before I leave you with the photos, though, I’d like to say a few words about the exhibition and why it took so long to get here. First of all, in the exhibition I look back on the seven year period living and working in Surrey. During this time, I became an active member of the University of Surrey Photography Society, learning lots and sharing what I knew. With the society I also exhibited work at the Lewis Elton Gallery.

During those years, I also developed an appreciation for the outdoors, going on regular walks in the English countryside, often solo, and visiting estates in the care of the National Trust and other heritage organizations. I always carried my camera gear, stopping to make photos as occasions presented themselves. This exhibition features a selection of memories from such walks, mostly from the countryside in Surrey and surrounding counties in the South East of England.

Now it took rather longer than anticipated to set this up because I got it into my head that I wanted to work through the entire process to final framed prints. This required some very specific tools and materials for mounting the photos (using current archival practice) which was a first for me. It also meant building the frames themselves, which as a keen woodworker was an interesting project, but does take its time.

I hope that other like minded people with an appreciation for photography and for the English countryside will be able to visit and enjoy the exhibition. Any questions or thoughts, please feel free to get in touch.

8 comments

    • Thanks, I’ve been wanting to do this for a while, and finally built the confidence to go through with it…

Leave a Comment

