Lija Door Front

Lija Door Front. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

A couple weeks ago, on a quiet Sunday evening, I walked up to Lija to remake a photo I had done ten years ago, of a lovely front door near the recreational area. Back then, the building was in a sorry state (and so was the door), and I was intrigued by the warm morning light on the heavily textured building and door. For some reason, this photo seems to have resonated with quite a few people, particularly those from the village. In the intervening years we have seen planning permission notices stuck, then the whole thing torn down and eventually rebuilt. Every time I pass by this place (at least every time I go for a run) I keep telling myself that I want to revisit with the camera.

Thankfully, the rebuild was done in sympathy with the character of the former building and also of its neighbouring ones. It looks to me as though this project is still not complete, with what seems like tied up wiring ready for some electrical fixtures on the façade (lamps, I guess). However, in what tickles my sense of humour, there is once again a notice (more than one actually!) at the front in an attempt to keep the place clean. Where before it was to prohibit people leaving rubbish at that corner, this time it’s to remind dog owners to pick up after their pooches. I guess it just reflects the change in the times.

Lija Door Front. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.