New Routes in Wied il-Bassasa

I recently had a chance to visit Wied il-Bassasa again with climbing in mind. I wanted to introduce my friend Stefano to the experience of climbing in areas where there is no bolt to be seen, top anchors have to be built by the climber, and an alternative descent needs to be found after dismantling the top anchor. Wied il-Bassasa fits the bill nicely, as there were no documented climbs at all in the west valley until those that Hendrik-Jan and I had done a few years ago.

So on this occasion we started with Stefano repeating one of my routes, which we decided to upgrade due to the crux move and protection. Then we chose to explore possible new routes, and found two easy lines which were nevertheless interesting to climb. You can download the updated topo, intended to be printed on A5 paper, below.

PDF: [Wied il-Bassasa Topo]

If you would like to share the topo, please do so by sharing a link to this page – do not post the PDF directly on other websites or social media. The collection of topos for routes opened by myself or my climbing partners, as well as a facsimile of the classic John Graham guidebook from the 1970s, can be found in Rock Climbing Resources – Malta.

One thought on “New Routes in Wied il-Bassasa

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.