Overlooking Squerryes Court

Overlooking Squerryes Court (0784)

A quick blog post today, going back a few weeks to the same walk near Westerham in Kent from which I posted the Old Watcher. Today’s image was taken a little further along the Greensand Way. I know exactly where I took this photo, but I was very uncertain what to call it. From the map I know that just over the brow of the hill on the right of the image sits Squerryes Court, the local manor house. I am unsure, however, what that feature is in the clearing at image left. It looks very much like a feature in a landscaped garden, which I presume is part of the Squerryes estate. If any of my readers know, I’d appreciate a line.

The image itself was taken handheld as a single exposure. Post-processing involved the usual selective curves to balance the image brightness and global curves to set overall contrast. From what I recall I also need to selectively adjust the color balance with a warming filter, to cut a bit through the haze in the distance.

As always, I encourage you to click on the image for a larger version; comments welcome.

One comment

  1. […] border from Surrey. I had previously shared two other photos from this walk: the Old Watcher, and Overlooking Squerryes Court. I don’t know why I waited so long to share this. Oh wait, actually I do: it’s just […]

Leave a Comment

